top of page
  • bandcamp
  • soundcloud
  • spotify
  • apple music / itunes
  • amazon music
  • deezer
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
  • youtube
  • songkick tour info

Massa Confusa

Status: active

Post-punk / electronic / rock / alternative

Contact: massaconfusa @

For all releases go to:

Ally Morton - vocals, guitar and production

Matt O'Brien - bass

Massa Confusa is currently a DIY alternative rock / electronic / post-punk project founded by Ally Morton based in Donostia-San Sebastián, Basque Country, Spain; but between 2012 – 2017 was based in Durham / Newcastle, UK and featured bassist and artist Matt O’Brien. They write, record and produce their music, which is available on all major platforms.


Their extensive back catalogue features a self-titled debut mini album, 2 albums, 6 EPs, various covers, and numerous singles.


Between 2013 – 2017 Massa Confusa showcased ‘Massa Confusa Presents’, a monthly organised concert and annual compilation series, which supported an eclectic range of local, DIY and independent artists. The compilations are available to steam or download on their Bandcamp and Spotify profiles.


In January 2016 they launched their own (primarily digital) record label ‘Clarty Cat’, which is also home to Nerd punk trio Skull Puppies, Miss Danby & The What, Ally’s collaborative solo project Five Pence Game, and Jack Fallows from Skull Puppies' side project Sleepwalk.


In July 2017 Ally moved from Newcastle to Donostia. As a duo they released ‘Guiri EP’ in 2019, but aside from a couple of reunion shows in Newcastle, Ally began to focus on performing solo with sets of samples, live loops, guitar and vocals. Matt continues to perform as Sewer Cops, who released their debut EP Greasy Glistening in 2019.


Extending from Ally’s interest in community and collaboration, he makes an annual playlist of independent Basque music, has helped with experimental collective ‘Distopía Mutante’, and has begun showcasing bands as ‘Día Guay’. 


On August 4th 2020 Massa Confusa released ‘Validation’ and on December 11th 2020 their latest EP ‘Evolve’.

bottom of page